- Posts: 52
- Thank you received: 1
[Solved] Akeeba Backup transfer
10 years 11 months ago - 10 years 9 months ago #218999
by Seans
[Solved] Akeeba Backup transfer was created by Seans
-- HikaShop version -- : 2.6.0
-- Joomla version -- : 3.4.5
-- PHP version -- : 5.5.28
-- Error-message(debug-mod must be tuned on) -- : idk
I use akeeba back up to move from development environment to production. When i update my site. what happens to all my order information current and passed orders on my live site? I would like to move my site to production without loosing any customer information. Would the orders stay on my live site because my development has no orders to overwrite the old. Or would my new orders be erased when i move development to production.
Thank you best regards
-- Joomla version -- : 3.4.5
-- PHP version -- : 5.5.28
-- Error-message(debug-mod must be tuned on) -- : idk
I use akeeba back up to move from development environment to production. When i update my site. what happens to all my order information current and passed orders on my live site? I would like to move my site to production without loosing any customer information. Would the orders stay on my live site because my development has no orders to overwrite the old. Or would my new orders be erased when i move development to production.
Thank you best regards
Last edit: 10 years 9 months ago by Seans.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
10 years 11 months ago #219039
by nicolas
Replied by nicolas on topic Akeeba Backup transfer
If you move the development site to production while you had orders coming in on your live website, you'll loose all the new data between when you got the data from the production to the development website. So I don't recommend doing that.
What we do usually is that we do a copy of the current website, test the changes we want on a copy, and then do the same changes on the live website so that we don't loose any data.
And when it's a big migration, like when we migrated from our old 1.5 website to Joomla 3.x, we actually had both websites running at the same time with a migration script we custom built for our needs in order to migrate the data in a few minutes from the old to the new website, and in the mean time, we stopped the live website to avoid loosing any orders or forum message in the process.
What we do usually is that we do a copy of the current website, test the changes we want on a copy, and then do the same changes on the live website so that we don't loose any data.
And when it's a big migration, like when we migrated from our old 1.5 website to Joomla 3.x, we actually had both websites running at the same time with a migration script we custom built for our needs in order to migrate the data in a few minutes from the old to the new website, and in the mean time, we stopped the live website to avoid loosing any orders or forum message in the process.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
Time to create page: 0.129 seconds