Open graph description wrong

• Thank you received: 8
2 years 2 months ago #339267

-- HikaShop version -- : 4.3.0
-- Joomla version -- : 3.9.28
-- PHP version -- : 7.3.33

Hi,
I just published the System Hikashop Social Networks plugin and enabled the Open Graph meta tag. Other options are disabled.

The tags og:title, og:type, og:image, og:url and og:site_name are correct.

But og:description is incorrect. It doesnot show the product meta description, as if should.
It shows the entire product description.

I found a way to correct this on a local copy of the website by changing the file plugins/system/hikashopsocial/ hikashopsocial.php

Original line 470

$ret->description = $element->product_description;
Changed line
$ret->description = $element->product_meta_description;

After this hack og:description indeed shows the product meta description.

I'm just a PHP amateur so probably this hack is not the right way to handle the problem.
But for some reason without this hack the meta description is not used in og:description.

Please advise.

Udo

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 13081
2 years 2 months ago #339269

Hi,

Well, the meta description of the products is to set the meta description tag in the headers of the page:
www.w3schools.com/tags/tag_meta.asp
So I don't see the point of using the meta_description for the og:description tag since facebook would already be able to get the meta_description from the meta description tag.
I think it's more logical that the description is used for that tag.
Now if you want to use the meta description for the og:description tag, then of course, your modification would be necessary.
However, I'm not convinced that it would be more appropriate like that for everyone.
The main issue I see would be that the og:description tag would suddenly become empty for people who only filled the description and left the meta description empty in their products.

• Thank you received: 8