Restrict Product Combinations

• Thank you received: 0
11 years 8 months ago #60963

I have a subscription product type which requires a specific payment type setup to do recurring direct debits. Because of this I need to restrict this product from being purchased with other normal payment type products. Since the payment type is determined by the Shipping Method I am trying to determine an appropriate way to restrict the available Shipping Methods based on the products in the cart. I seem to be coming up a little short on finding a solution that works for all or even most cart combinations. The key really is just that if the subscription product is in the cart then no other products should be.

If I make the weight on the subscription large and the shipping method for large weights this works in part. It stops the subscription shipping method from being displayed on most cart combos and shows it when the subscription product is in the cart. But does not stop other products form then being added because it just adds to the weight. If you then put upper limits it stops multiple subscriptions being added to the cart. The same sort of problems exist if I try anything to do with price.

Do you have any other ideas?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 13071
11 years 8 months ago #61045

Hi,

You won't be able to restrict payment methods per products based on a characteristic which has to be used for shipping fees.
You should just add a check on the file 'cart' of the 'checkout' view via the menu Display->Views and add such code:

$sub_found=false;
$other_products=false;
foreach($this->products as $product){
 if($product->cart_product_quantity>0){
   if($product->product_code=='My_subscription_product') $sub_found= true;
   else $other_products = true;
 }
}

if($sub_found && $other_products){
 $app =& JFactory::getApplication();
 $app->enqueueMessage('Not possible');
 $this->nextButton = false;
}