Shipping and billing addresses

  • Posts: 290
  • Thank you received: 4
  • Hikashop Business
11 years 2 weeks ago #18814

Add product to cart, go to checkout.
Use the same address as for billing is ticked.
Untick this.
Both shipping and billing addresses are the same.
Click edit on the shipping address.
Change shipping address.
Billing address changes and Use the same address as for billing is ticked.

Not unexpected to me - makes sense if the new button has not been clicked.
However, seems to confuse some people.
Anyway of improving how this works?
Thanks.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 290
  • Thank you received: 4
  • Hikashop Business
11 years 2 weeks ago #18815

Ditto when a user deletes the shipping address the billing address gets deleted as well.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 75905
  • Thank you received: 11855
  • MODERATOR
11 years 2 weeks ago #18826

Indeed that's the addresses of the user which are displayed. If you change a record in the addresses, it changes the address, regardless of whether it's used for shipping or billing. Same if you delete it.
So maybe what we should do is create a new address when and address and that the same address is selected for both shipping and billing when the Use the same address as for billing is unticked.

For the delete, I'm not sure... Maybe just forbid the user to delete an address if he has only one address would be enough ?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 290
  • Thank you received: 4
  • Hikashop Business
11 years 2 weeks ago #18856

Both of those sound like a good idea. Thanks.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 75905
  • Thank you received: 11855
  • MODERATOR
11 years 2 weeks ago #18903

We'll add that to next release.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 290
  • Thank you received: 4
  • Hikashop Business
11 years 2 weeks ago #19395

In the address view form.php is it possible to tell whether the address being shown/entered is a billing address or a shipping address?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 75905
  • Thank you received: 11855
  • MODERATOR
11 years 2 weeks ago #19398

Not yet but it will be in next release since we had to do it for the improvements we talked about in previous posts.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 290
  • Thank you received: 4
  • Hikashop Business
11 years 2 weeks ago #19400

Thanks.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 47
  • Thank you received: 0
11 years 1 week ago #19564

Hi Nicolas,

Great that you are working on the improvements with the address issue. Waiting for that! ;)

In the meantime, is it possible when the customer creates a new (shipping) address that it gets selected by default?
Now the customer has to manually select the new address which can be confusing for some people.

Kind regards,
Woes


P.s.
I have deleted the checkbox as described in a different topic, and also deleted the "delete" and "edit" icons.
This leaves the customer no choice but to add a new address, also added a comment in the "checkout / address.php " to make sure the customer understands he/she needs to create a new shipping address.

Last edit: 11 years 1 week ago by woes. Reason: information to others ;)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 75905
  • Thank you received: 11855
  • MODERATOR
11 years 1 week ago #19569

The new functionning will be released with next version of HikaShop which will be available tonight or tomorrow if everything goes as planned :)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 47
  • Thank you received: 0
11 years 1 week ago #19575

That's great news! You guys rock ;)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 47
  • Thank you received: 0
11 years 1 week ago #19660

Hi Nicolas,

Was very happy with the new update, immediately tried it out and uploaded the new package.
Upon creating or editing the address, a new address was made and also selected by default (on the shipping address side). The billing address was maintained. Yay!

However.. I proudly called my partner to show him the update, when we found out it didn't work anymore.
While it DID just a few minutes ago, very strange, haven't changed anything in the meantime.

Well, the NEW made address IS still selected, but for some reason it also gets selected for the billing address..


P.s. I do have custom changes in some views, but allready replaced my checkout / address_view with the one from the new 1.5.2 package to get the changes to work (after installing the new package).

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 75905
  • Thank you received: 11855
  • MODERATOR
11 years 1 week ago #19661

If you don't uncheck the "same address" checkbox, when editing the billing address, no new address will be created and the change will be for both addresses.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 47
  • Thank you received: 0
11 years 1 week ago #19664

We don't have that checkbox, have deleted it as described in a different topic :) problem occurs when editing or creating a new address in the right column (shipping address column)

Last edit: 11 years 1 week ago by woes.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 75905
  • Thank you received: 11855
  • MODERATOR
11 years 1 week ago #19665

Then, that's why. You should keep the default files if you want it to work properly.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 47
  • Thank you received: 0
11 years 1 week ago #19667

Okay, i will place all original (1.5.2) files back and see what happens, will keep you updated!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 47
  • Thank you received: 0
11 years 1 week ago #19670

Well, i have done that.. Now i have even weirder behaviour:

Unchecked the "use same address" box, Clicked the Edit address button, blank popup comes up..

Now trying to create a new shipping address.. popup displays correctly this time.
Filling in the shipping address, clicking OK.
Now the new address is created and selected on the BILLING address part, and the checkbox is checked again!

This is almost the same behaviour as described in the first post in this topic.. very strange..

Last edit: 11 years 1 week ago by woes.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 75905
  • Thank you received: 11855
  • MODERATOR
11 years 1 week ago #19689

That's strange indeed. Could you give a link to you shop so that we can see that ?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 47
  • Thank you received: 0
11 years 1 week ago #19699

Yes, that is www.fotoboeket.nl/bestellen

However since the shop is live and the ad campaign is running i had to (partly) restore the "changed" views so customers can still place orders. Not like it was before, but for the time being i guess it works..

Also the changes i have are not really that dramatic, i will provide you with the login credentials so you can check for yourself (i have only implemented the changes as discussed in my other threads)..

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 75905
  • Thank you received: 11855
  • MODERATOR
11 years 1 week ago #19720

Well, if it's a live shop, we shouldn't try to mess with it.
Let's try to reproduce the problem on our demo website.

I just tried on my end: I added a product to the cart, checked out, logged in, unchecked the same address box and clicked on the edit button for the shipping address and changed something in the address. Everything went as expected.

If you can try to reproduce the problem on the demo website, that would be great.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.105 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum