RSS xml Feed

  • Posts: 136
  • Thank you received: 1
11 years 1 week ago #19334

Hi Nicolas,

I'm wanting to generate an XML feed to provide to various websites that will be featuring products that we list on our website.

Do you know of any Joomla extensions that work well with Hikashop or alternatively is there a plugin that generates a feed?

The information I'm wanting to extract is product name, price, description & sale end date.

Only for products in a certain category.

Is that possible?

Thanks in advance,
Jacqueline

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 75859
  • Thank you received: 11840
  • MODERATOR
11 years 1 week ago #19339

Hi,

HikaShop can generate RSS feeds for your listings of products. You need to activate it in the Display tab of the configuration. There is no need to install anything. That is available only since 1.5.1 release.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 136
  • Thank you received: 1
10 years 11 months ago #20678

Thanks Nicolas,

I have just installed and am going through version 1.5.2.

I am wanting to enable the RSS feed for only products that are in a certain category. Is this possible?

I've set the settings as per the screenshot attached, however I'm not sure where to go from here. I've looked through the documentation with no luck.

Thanks again.

Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 75859
  • Thank you received: 11840
  • MODERATOR
10 years 11 months ago #20695

That's all you need to do.
Once you enable it, your users should be able to subscribe to your RSS feeds.

There is no option to just enable it for some categories and not others.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 136
  • Thank you received: 1
10 years 11 months ago #20849

Thanks Nicolas.

How exactly do our users subscribe to receive the feed?

Thanks
Jacqueline

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 75859
  • Thank you received: 11840
  • MODERATOR
10 years 11 months ago #20856

It depends of the client/browser you use. For example, we have a RSS feed on that page:
www.demo.hikashop.com/index.php?option=c...ng&Itemid=90&lang=en

With Firefox 4, you can go in the menu Firefox->Bookmarks->Subscribe to this page in order to subscribe to the RSS feed.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 136
  • Thank you received: 1
10 years 11 months ago #20893

Hi Nicolas,

Thanks for this. I have subscribed to the feed for your demo site. But am unable to configure mine correctly.

I have attached screenshots of 1 - my configuration & 2 - the result when i try to subscribe to my own feed.

I'm also quite interested in the image slider you have on your demo. Is there any documentation on this?

Thanking you,
Jacqueline

Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 75859
  • Thank you received: 11840
  • MODERATOR
10 years 11 months ago #20909

You didn't attach your second screenshot with the result when you try to subscribe.

The configuration is correct though.

There is no documentation for the image slider on our website. We use this slider extensions.joomla.org/extensions/photos-...ages-slideshow/13119 and its documentation is available on the page dj-extensions.com/dj-image-slider/blog

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 136
  • Thank you received: 1
10 years 11 months ago #20948

Here is the result I received when attempting to subscribe.

Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 75859
  • Thank you received: 11840
  • MODERATOR
10 years 11 months ago #20951

We would need some additional information.

Could you give the URL of that page ?

Also, could you edit the file libraries/joomla/document/document.php and change the line:
JError::raiseError(500,JText::_('Unable to load renderer class'));

to:
JError::raiseError(500,JText::_('Unable to load renderer class '.$path));

and do a new screenshot of the page ?
The error message should include the file path which couldn't be loaded.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 136
  • Thank you received: 1
10 years 11 months ago #20999

The URL is bellabuy.com.au/index.php?option=com_hik...ut=listing&Itemid=57

I have attached a new screenshot.

Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 75859
  • Thank you received: 11840
  • MODERATOR
10 years 11 months ago #21003

Apparently, it's not possible to trigger the content plugins in order to process the content tags in the description of products when displaying the RSS.
Could you try to replace the code:
$desc = JHTML::_('content.prepare',preg_replace('#<hr *id="system-readmore" */>#i','',$desc));

by:
$desc = preg_replace('#<hr *id="system-readmore" */>#i','',$desc);

in the files components/com_hikashop/views/product/view.feed.php and components/com_hikashop/views/category/view.feed.php and then try again ?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 136
  • Thank you received: 1
10 years 11 months ago #21026

Hi Nicolas,

This is great thank you. The feed appears to be working.

Now I just need to tweak it as I'm only wanting products in a certain category to appear. I'm also wanting to pull certain information, such as my additional fields.

Is there any way I can customise this from here?

Thank you so much,
Jacqueline

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 75859
  • Thank you received: 11840
  • MODERATOR
10 years 11 months ago #21028

It should be able to remove the feed link on some categories by adding some custom code in the file listing of the view category but it's not simple.
It's not possible to pull other fields in the RSS feed item description. RSS only allows a limited number of information. That would mean that you would have to put your fields data in the description via some custom code. However, joomla does not offer any override mechanism for feeds so you can't override the description unless you edit core files of HikaShop but that means that you will have to reapply your modifications, each time you update...

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 136
  • Thank you received: 1
10 years 11 months ago #21079

Hi Nicolas,

I had changed the configuration slightly to the attached screenshot.

Now when I click on subscribe to feed no product items come up.

Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 136
  • Thank you received: 1
10 years 11 months ago #21080

Actually I've just switched to 'no feed' and then back to RSS feed and it's working.

Thanks for all your help.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 21
  • Thank you received: 1
8 years 8 months ago #128158

I have the similar problem at our e-shop www.eshop.evs.sk - My RSS feed is not working properly, and my Atom Feed is not working at all. I have done the setup as above, but it did not helped.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 13201
  • Thank you received: 2320
  • Hikashop Business
8 years 8 months ago #128403

Hi,

Thanks to give more details for "RSS feed is not working properly".
It can probably give us more clues. :)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 21
  • Thank you received: 1
8 years 8 months ago #128481

Hi there, what else can I say?
Joomla 2.5.14
Hikashop essentials 2.2.1
RSS feed: eshop.evs.sk/index.php?format=feed&type=rss
Atom feed: eshop.evs.sk/index.php?format=feed&type=atom

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 25329
  • Thank you received: 3919
  • MODERATOR
8 years 8 months ago #128624

Hi,

I am sorry but I can open the "RSS feed" without any problem with Firefox.
I don't have any Atom feed reader so I can't test it.
But the RSS one is right and valid.

So, can you explain what is the problem ?
"Is not working properly" is something subjective because for what I see and what I know, it is working.

Regards,


Jerome - Obsidev.com
HikaMarket & HikaSerial developer / HikaShop core dev team.

Also helping the HikaShop support team when having some time or couldn't sleep.
By the way, do not send me private message, use the "contact us" form instead.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.117 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum