Filter category no products found

  • Posts: 61
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Hikashop Business
1 year 9 months ago #326770

-- url of the page with the problem -- : liomas.eu/havellas-eshop/krani
-- HikaShop version -- : 4.4.0
-- Joomla version -- : 3.9.23

Hello,

I'm using a filter for product categories.
I have setup the module and the filter accordingly but I get "no products found".

Url of the product category
liomas.eu/havellas-eshop/krani

Filter module settings



Filter settings


Thank you in advance!
Yannis

Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 3784
  • Thank you received: 512
  • MODERATOR
1 year 9 months ago #326776

Hello,

Maybe this question will seem a little silly to you, but did you set any category in your products ? Other point, can you process some test without this option :



Awaiting your returns to be able to progress on your subject.
Regards

Last edit: 1 year 9 months ago by Philip.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 61
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Hikashop Business
1 year 9 months ago #326812

Hello,

no problem. Yes, I have set category in my products.

I tried this option and I get a broken filter and no results again.

Should I send you login info to check it yourself?

Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 61
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Hikashop Business
1 year 9 months ago #326814

So I think I found the problem.

My products belong to a subcategory of the targeted category.
But the filter searches only products belonging directly to the filtered subcategory.

I have selected to "Include subcategories".

Can you fix this bug?

Attachments:
Last edit: 1 year 9 months ago by yanliom.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 76510
  • Thank you received: 12007
  • MODERATOR
1 year 9 months ago #326844

Hi,

I think we're going in the wrong direction here.
In the setting "menu" of your module, you've entered 107.
So the filtering will be done on the products displayed by default by the menu item with the id 107.
If that menu item is not a menu item of the type "products listing", or that this menu item is configured to not display any products by default, it would explain why you don't get any products when you use the filter of that module.
So I would recommend to first check the settings of that menu item via the Joomla menu manager.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 61
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Hikashop Business
1 year 9 months ago #326859

Hello,

the menu item 107 is a products listing menu which displays the products from the subcategories.

Please read carefully my previous reply.



Yannis

Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 76510
  • Thank you received: 12007
  • MODERATOR
1 year 9 months ago #326867

Hi,

I did read your previous message carefully.
Still, your issue is likely with this menu item settings.
Please provide a screenshot of the settings under the "products options" tab of this menu item.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 61
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Hikashop Business
1 year 9 months ago #326881

Hello, thank you for your interest nicolas!

Here is the screenshot (please tell me if you need login credentials):

Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 76510
  • Thank you received: 12007
  • MODERATOR
1 year 9 months ago #326898

Hi,

The menu item looks fine.
So I checked the situation on your website and the filter seems to work fine.
It seems that your grief with it is that it's only displaying the products directly inside the category selected.
However, there is no setting to change that.
The category filter is only capable of that.
The "include sub categories" setting of the filter is for the display of the filter, which means that if you display the filter module on a products listing, then the filter will display only based on that first "category" setting and the "include sub categories" setting.

For what you want to do, I would recommend to approach the problem differently.
Instead of creating a category filter, I would recommend creating a "HikaShop content module" configured to display the categories in the sidebar position. Then, when clicking on a category of the module, it will display the products of the category clicked on, and since your menu item is configured to display all sub elements already, it will display the products of the sub categories.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 61
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Hikashop Business
1 year 9 months ago #326918

Ok,

I didn't expect that the Filter will not fetch products from subcategories. If the targeted menu item fetches the products, so should the filter.

The solution you proposed will not work in my case, I have to use multiple combined filters on my products.

Anyway, thank you for your time,
Yannis

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 76510
  • Thank you received: 12007
  • MODERATOR
1 year 9 months ago #326934

Hi,

You can combine filters and a categories listing module on the side.
I don't see a problem with that ?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 61
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Hikashop Business
1 year 9 months ago #327018

Hello nicolas,

I need filters so that the customers can use multiple combinations using checkboxes on the same page!

Thank you for pointing out the first-level of category restriction regarding the filter plugin!
Maybe it's a good idea to highlight it in the documentation so that others don't spare so much time searching for what's going wrong.

Best,
Yannis

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 76510
  • Thank you received: 12007
  • MODERATOR
1 year 9 months ago #327043

It's indeed a good idea to improve the documentation on that.

Regarding the use of a categories listing module, I don't see the problem. You can have the categories listing module on top of the filters module. The customer can click on a category to get the products of that category. And then he can uses the filters on the module to filter the products of that category.
One thing you need to be careful though is that you need to deactivate the "force redirect" setting if you have it activated as otherwise, the filter module will ignore the current category he is in and will filter the products of the menu item you have in the "menu" setting of the module.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 61
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Hikashop Business
1 year 9 months ago #327129

Ok, thank you!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 41
  • Thank you received: 0
  • Hikashop Business
1 year 5 months ago #331389

I have a relatable situation.

My visitors need to be able to search for keywords in the product name and see all items with that keyword in the title regardless of the category they're in. My visitors do not necessarily know in what category the product will be. And there ar a lot of products, so being able to search by name is of great value.

It would be very welcome to be able to set the filter to include subcategories.

With kind regards,
Rachel Walraven

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 76510
  • Thank you received: 12007
  • MODERATOR
1 year 5 months ago #331390

Hi,

It's already possible to create a text filter and configure it to search through all the products on the shop regardless of the categories.
For that you can :
- create a filter of the type "text" applying it on the product name column via the Display>Fitlers menu.
- if you don't have already a menu item displaying a products listing of all your products, create one via the Joomla menu manager. By default, the "products listing" menu item pre installed with HikaShop is configured to display all your products.
- configure the HikaShop filter module for that filter, with the "force redirect" setting activated and the id of that previously configured menu item in the "menu" setting of the module.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 41
  • Thank you received: 0
  • Hikashop Business
1 year 5 months ago #331406

Thanks!

Last edit: 1 year 5 months ago by webwerk.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.130 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum