Importing products with variants/characteristics

• Thank you received: 0
9 years 8 months ago #167370

-- HikaShop version -- : 2.3.2
-- Joomla version -- : 3.3.3
-- PHP version -- : 5.4.30
-- Browser(s) name and version -- : Safari 7.0.4

My apologies, I am new to Hikashop and am trying to determine the proper method for importing a client's products.

The shop will be the web front for a brick and mortar beauty supply shop. I have used Hikashop in the past for smaller projects and was impressed, so I figured I would give it a try for a larger one.

My issues is as follows:

Client has many products and many variations of each product. For example a line of Nail polish may have 100 colors and another line may have another completely different set of 100 colors.

Is it possible to configure a CSV import to create the product, product brand, product category, product parent category, and all 100+ color variations tied to the main product automatically?

The end-user should be able to select the product, and chose the color, size etc from drop downs. I have not been able to make this work successfully in HikaShop yet. Is this beyond it's capability?

I have attached a sample csv of the best I have been able to come up with yet. You will see it creates the following:

Categories:
Nail Care (Sub Categories - Gel Polish and Acrylic Powder)
Skin Care (Sub Categories - Hand Lotion and Eye Creme)

In the Gel Polish sub-category I have 1 main product with 4 variants
Also in the Acrylic Powder sub category 1 have 1 main product with 4 different variants
The Skin Care category currently has no products.

When this csv is uploaded it creates the categories and subcategories fine (the brand/manufacturers have be pre-created in Hikashop) It does generate some errors

This is where I run into my main concern:

The main product and 4 variants for Gel Polish are created in the proper category each as a separate product, however on the product page the variants are not listed.