Transfering products from one site to another problems

• Thank you received: 0
  • Hikashop Business
5 years 2 months ago #303140

-- HikaShop version -- : 4.0.2
-- Joomla version -- : 3.9.2

Hi,

I currently have our active website with some 130 produce and am currently working on a fresh replacement site which now has some 150 products. I am trying to transfer some of the products from the old site to the new but I am running into issues.

If i select the products i want to transfer i on the old site and export it works fine, but the issue comes on the import. when i import the CSV into the new site it overwrites some of the existing products in the new site. I am assuming this is because the ID's are the same. also although the categories are the same they were inputted manually on the new site so the ID's again don't match and importing the CSV adds a load of erroneous categories which I don't want to happen

However I have very little experience of CSV files and when I alter the id's in the file so they no longer clash it no longer imports without a lot of errors, see attached. With this CSV the products don't come over at all but the categories has been messed up as shown in capture2

Can you give me any advice on how to get the products from one site to another without wrecking the structure of the new site.

Thanks in advance for your help

Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 13062
5 years 2 months ago #303160

Hi,

After you do the expor,t you want to:
- open the CSV with Excel, or even better, libreoffice calc.
- remove the product_id column
- remove the lines to generate the category tree at the beginning to only keep the first line with the column names and the product lines.