Paypal Integration

• Thank you received: 5
5 years 3 months ago #302236

-- HikaShop version -- : 4.0.1
-- Joomla version -- : 3.9.1
-- PHP version -- : 7.1.25

Hello,

I'm new to Hika, so I've installed the latest free version to play with. I'm working through documentation and liking it so far. I plan to use PayPal as the payment gateway, to sell a small number of simple items. I see there are a number of PayPal configuration options within Hika.

However, one thing I would like to get a feeling of, is the required setup on the PayPal side. Could someone please point me to some introductory text or briefly explain - if using a simple personal Paypal account (which so far has only been used with Ebay), what sort of changes will I need to make / configure on the Paypal account? For instance; within Hika, is Paypal only being used as a payment gateway, so knows nothing about the actual products, sizes, vat etc.

Many thanks,
Marc

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 13069
5 years 3 months ago #302238

Hi,

Yes, HikaShop will only use PayPal as a payment gateway. It will send to it the amount to pay and to which account the money has to go to basically.
You can also have HikaShop send it more details about the order, but it won't change anything for the configuration of your PayPal account.
If your account has been used to sell items with eBay, then it's already a Business account and you should already be able to use it with your own online shop. In HikaShop, you just have to enter your account email address when configuring the PayPal payment method and it should work.

• Thank you received: 5
5 years 3 months ago #302255

Excellent, thanks Nicolas. Following on from that; will Hika work with a personal PayPal account? So I can layout the options to the user?