Register in English

• Thank you received: 0
11 years 8 months ago #61646

I accept that I am a noob with Hikashop, so I am sorry if there is an obvious solution. I have looked but I cannot find one. My site does not require a login until a user tries to buy something. When they try to buy something Hikashop asks them to register, fine. If they choose a country like Thailand (where I am providing a service to tourists) the choice of province changes to Thai language... something that the average tourist cannot read... big problem. They cannot register because they cannot read the Thai language. Is it possible to get the province options in English? It does look stupid on an English language site to have foreign language reading requirements. I travel a lot and work in many countries and this is a constant problem with many web sites. I would understand if the language was obtained from the browsers but I do not want IP specific languages on any site as it frequently makes the site unusable.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 13102
11 years 8 months ago #61658

Well, it's logical to do that in most cases.
When someone says that his address is in Thailand, it's almost certain that the person knows how to read the province where he is living.

As a practical reason, we didn't find any freely available and easily usable database of world provinces in English to integrate in HikaShop.
But if we were to go even further, we would have to provide the translation of each country and province name for each language. That would be too much data to include in HikaShop.

In any case, you can go in the menu System->Zones and change the name of all the zones yourself. If you provide us an export of the zones table for the provinces of a country, we'll be happy to include them in.

11 years 8 months ago #61668