How to accomplish a Product w/ Models?

• Thank you received: 0
11 years 6 months ago #71885

I'm brand new to HikaShop and still not sure if it's even the right solution for my client yet, so I need your help! (I'm on Joomla 2.5, HikaShop free/starter version for now...)

I have many products that have different models that can be purchased, and each model has attributes specific to it. For example, I have a type of Micrometer I'm selling. It has 3 model variations, each with their own unique model #s, size, material type, and a couple other attributes. These variations are unique to the model #, so using the typical Attributes drop-downs doesn't work.

This website has what I'm looking for near exactly:
http://pkproductline.com/15-gallon-spot-sprayer.html

I'd really appreciate any feedback, thank you!

- C.

ps. Oops, looks like I posted this in the wrong forum. Could a mod please more it to the "How to?" forum? :blush:

Last edit: 11 years 6 months ago by cwendt.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 2322
11 years 6 months ago #72039

Hi,

To have something like this website, in your case, you could create a category "Micrometer", create 3 products in this category.
Then create a menu with the type: product listing, and set the listing as a list, display the "add to cart" button in the listing.

By this way you will have the same display as in the link given, and unique products.
To display the characteristics on the listing page, you can create a module, and display this module in the listing page.

Hope this will help you.

11 years 6 months ago #72086

Hello Xavier,

Thank you for your response! I was actually flirting with the idea of doing it that way, but considering my website has 160+ products and they each have 3-10 models each, I'm wondering if that'd be the most efficient way?

Also, can categories have multiple photos like regular products do? Some of my products have a couple.