Re: Feature request: password controlled access to cat

• Thank you received: 0
12 years 3 months ago #36766

My quest to implement this from existing extensions has come to a dead end so I think its a good candidate for a feature request.

As a photographer I will sell photos taken at events like weddings, sporting, musical, school and many other types of closed group events.

These photos can be pruchased online and especially with the autocreation of products, a photographers life can be greatly simplified.

Most people would not want their wedding or childrens sport club photos available for just everyone to purchase.

What I would like to do is place my products in a restricted space and send a common password to the organiser/co-ordinator who distributes it to everyone who is authorised to purchase the pictures.

My suggestion is to add a function to categories to password protect it. From a user perspective it would look like this:

Click on the menu item 'Joe and Janes wedding' in my shop
    An enter password window or sceen is presented
    User enters password received from organiser and the photos are presented on the page, makes purchases and registers as normal.
    User remains logged in for the remainder of the session

For the administrator it would look like this:
    Create category as currently done
    Select the Yes radio button titled Password protect?
    Enter a password in the text field
    Send password to organiser who distributes to shoppers

Other not so good alternatives:
    I could miss-use a Joomla user by creating a genric one for which the user id and password is distributed to shoppers because multiple addresses can be entered into the shipping address. Firstly this will confuse users with physical products being sent to fellow group members, and a new email cannot be entered so that would mean purchased files would aways be sent to the user who's email is in the system.