Fatal error while updating

  • Posts: 45
  • Thank you received: 0
11 years 3 months ago #14714

Hi,

I was updating from 1.4.8 to 1.4.9 and it appeared me this error:

Fatal error: Call to protected method JLanguage::parse() from context '' in /home/***/public_html/administrator/components/com_hikashop/helpers/helper.php on line 949

Language? This is weird...

Thanks.

Best regards,
Pedro Lima

PS: I've downgrading to 1.4.8 again since I wasn't able to access Hikashop component in admin.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 76114
  • Thank you received: 11912
  • MODERATOR
11 years 3 months ago #14717

Hi,

We just confirmed that problem. It's a bug of newer versions of joomla 1.6 (.2 or .3).
They changed the parse function from public to protected. Which break the code we have in HikaShop.
We are looking at what we can do to circumvent that...

That's something which should NOT happen in a stable API.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 45
  • Thank you received: 0
11 years 3 months ago #14718

Hi Nicolas,

I'm using Joomla 1.6.1 yet.

This is weird. :(

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 76114
  • Thank you received: 11912
  • MODERATOR
11 years 3 months ago #14719

We've removed the functionality for joomla 1.6 as it is not possible. We won't be able to override translation strings on the back end on joomla 1.6. The bug is now fixed if you redownload the 1.4.9 package.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 8
  • Thank you received: 0
11 years 3 months ago #14724

This sounds a lot like my Bug.

Fatal error: Class 'dbug

Once I updated.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 76114
  • Thank you received: 11912
  • MODERATOR
11 years 3 months ago #14725

That's the problem of releasing a hotfix in the middle of a release cycle...
Please redownload hikashop and install again. That will solve the problem.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 45
  • Thank you received: 0
11 years 3 months ago #14727

For me it's working like a charm now. :)

Thanks.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 45
  • Thank you received: 0
11 years 3 months ago #14751

No, it doesn't work like a charm!

HUGE errors were occuring and it were CUSTOMERS who told me that!

It was happening in the front end!

In some categories (ONLY in some), there was a fatal error saying something about pagination!

I had, once again, to get back to 1.4.8!

This isn't good news... what is happening?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 76114
  • Thank you received: 11912
  • MODERATOR
11 years 3 months ago #14752

We have pagination on our end and there is no error. For example, on our demo website:
demomain.hikashop.com/index.php?option=c...ng&Itemid=58&lang=en
Could you give more details on the error message ?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 45
  • Thank you received: 0
11 years 3 months ago #14753

Unfortunately I can't reproduce the error now as I've downgraded it again.

But I just know that it was giving a fatal error in some categories because of the pagination. Don't know anything else.

The page appeared in blank with the content of the description from the category in the top and bellow that, the fatal error, and that's it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 76114
  • Thank you received: 11912
  • MODERATOR
11 years 3 months ago #14754

Without the error message we won't be able to do anything as we don't have the error on our end.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 45
  • Thank you received: 0
11 years 3 months ago #14755

Here's the error:

Fatal error: Call to a member function isAdmin() on a non-object in /home/***/public_html/administrator/components/com_hikashop/helpers/pagination.php on line 90

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 76114
  • Thank you received: 11912
  • MODERATOR
11 years 3 months ago #14756

You need to change :
global $mainframe;
to:
$mainframe =& JFactory::getApplication();

in that file as the global variable is not defined anymore on joomla 1.6

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 45
  • Thank you received: 0
11 years 3 months ago #14757

So this will happen to everyone that is working with Joomla 1.6, right?

Why don't you have an installation for 1.6 and another for 1.5 instead of people changing the code? Just my opinion. :)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 76114
  • Thank you received: 11912
  • MODERATOR
11 years 3 months ago #14758

Every one who uses 1.6 with pagination and who installed hikashop today if they don't redownload hikashop and install again.

There is no need to have two packages. It just need to be tested properly before a release.
We discovered today a major problem on 1.6 because of an API change which shouldn't have been done by joomla so we released a new build to address that. Unfortunately, we are in the middle of a release cycle and we couldn't test everything. Thus the problems.
I will let you read that message which explains more in details the problems on 1.6 so far: www.akeebabackup.com/home/item/1093-joom...ially-supported.html

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.090 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum