Security Issue: Fake new user, deletes addresses

• Thank you received: 0
11 years 1 month ago #93645

I had discussed this issue before in the following thread:

www.hikashop.com/en/forum/4-how-to/78299...oints-questions.html

Every so often we get a fake user injected into the system through what seems to be a backdoor. Doesn't use the registration form, no tracks in the Joomlawatch logs for bots or browsers, nothing suspicious in the redirects log, so creating a new user some other way. I'm new to Joomla and Hikashop, so not sure how they are injecting this new user.

We use Akeeba Admin Tools, so we get the IP of the intruder/fake user and can block the ranges (for what that is worth), and the user is, of course, blocked as far as I can see, before we delete them (not activated since we have confirmation set for registering).

The curious thing is that when this new fake user is created, it also wipes out (or turns off) the stored addresses of the admin user in Hikashop (user ID 1). This is not a 1-time thing. It has happened repeatedly, which tells me that somehow they are accessing and/or affecting the Hikashop address database while injecting this fake user.

We clear out the fake user from the Joomla user manager and check to be sure that user is gone from Acymailing, K2 and Hikashop. We add the addresses back into the admin user in Hikashop (user 1) and they stay showing until we get another fake user injected. It may be a day, or it may be a couple weeks. But when we get a new fake user injected, the addresses for the hikashop admin user (user 1) disappear.

In looking at phpMyAdmin today, it is interesting that deleting the users through Joomla user manager does not remove the address info from the Hikashop address tables for the deleted users. The fake users addresses are all still there.

Even more interesting, the hikashop admin user's addresses are all still there, but they are now flagged as not published.