Stripe - Requirement for Strong Customer Authentication

  • Posts: 100
  • Thank you received: 7
  • Hikashop Business
7 months 4 weeks ago #313156

Hi Jerome
In my Stripe Dashboard I've noticed that I am not using the latest API version and it says I can upgrade to the latest version 2019-11-05 (the one I am presently using is 2017-06-05)

Would the upgrade to the latest api version affect your Stripe Connect V3 plugin I am using on my site?
In the Stripe docs it is written taht upgrading will affect "The structure of objects received with Stripe.js methods such as confirmCardPayment."

Could it be possible that using an old api version would affect customer data my dashboard is receiving and that would be the reason why "Customer" field is blank in the Stripe Dashboard as Earmaster pointed out ?

Before upgrading the api version Stripe strongly advise to do "versioning" see attachment
How and where can I add the code to do that in the Stripe Connect V3 plugin ?



Thank you for your time

Attachments:
Last edit: 7 months 4 weeks ago by sophie11.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 24235
  • Thank you received: 3744
  • MODERATOR
7 months 4 weeks ago #313168

Hello,

I don't know which plugin you're using.

Regards,


Jerome - Obsidev.com
HikaMarket & HikaSerial developer / HikaShop core dev team.

Also helping the HikaShop support team when having some time or couldn't sleep.
By the way, do not send me private message, use the "contact us" form instead.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 100
  • Thank you received: 7
  • Hikashop Business
7 months 4 weeks ago #313182

Hi Jerome
I am using the Stripe connect V3 that you wrote !!
The one this thread is about ! What else ?
Regards
Sophie

The following user(s) said Thank You: Bouncer

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 24235
  • Thank you received: 3744
  • MODERATOR
7 months 3 weeks ago #313183

Hello,

There are several version of the Stripe v3 plugin ; the latest one is 1.0.4 which use a different API than the 1.0.0

Regards,


Jerome - Obsidev.com
HikaMarket & HikaSerial developer / HikaShop core dev team.

Also helping the HikaShop support team when having some time or couldn't sleep.
By the way, do not send me private message, use the "contact us" form instead.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 100
  • Thank you received: 7
  • Hikashop Business
7 months 3 weeks ago #313214

Hi Jerome
I am using the Stripe connect v3 1.0.4
regards

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 24235
  • Thank you received: 3744
  • MODERATOR
7 months 3 weeks ago #313230

Hello,

So the plugin is using the API version "2019-03-14'" since it's based on the v6.32.0 of the Stripe Library.
The version 7 of the library dropped the support of PHP 5.5 (and 5.4) ; we don't have enough feedback on customers usage to know if we should upgrade the library now or still wait on v6 since we are not using the latest API features.

I don't know why the Stripe library do not send the API version so I added that information within the plugin code.
You can re-download the version 1.0.4 of the payment plugin to get the patch.

Regards,


Jerome - Obsidev.com
HikaMarket & HikaSerial developer / HikaShop core dev team.

Also helping the HikaShop support team when having some time or couldn't sleep.
By the way, do not send me private message, use the "contact us" form instead.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 128
  • Thank you received: 2
  • Hikashop Business
7 months 3 weeks ago #313300

Actually, were using 1.0.4 but it seems that it gets served the Stripe API from November 8, 2018 (see screenshots)

Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 24235
  • Thank you received: 3744
  • MODERATOR
7 months 3 weeks ago #313326

Hello,

So I don't know how Stripe determine which API version you're using.
Because the Lib is the 6.32, published in April 2019, I did think that it will determine that you're using the API published just before.
Stripe is even saying that the version is already in the Lib but that it's possible to override it.
CF : stripe.com/docs/api/versioning
But that is strange that two users, using the same version of the plugin (with the same Stripe Lib), got a different value for the API.
With the addition of the override, it should force the usage of a specific API version in the Dashboard but the situation is still strange.

Regards,


Jerome - Obsidev.com
HikaMarket & HikaSerial developer / HikaShop core dev team.

Also helping the HikaShop support team when having some time or couldn't sleep.
By the way, do not send me private message, use the "contact us" form instead.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 100
  • Thank you received: 7
  • Hikashop Business
7 months 3 weeks ago #313416

Hi Jerome
The API version we are using on Stripe is the one we get when we first registered and then that API must be updated.
I never updated my API version and was wondering if I should do it but I don't want to mess it up now !!
So I will deal with that after Christmas

I will download the latest Stripe connect but won't update my site now as it is working fine at the moment and Christmas isn't the best time for that
Thank you

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 24235
  • Thank you received: 3744
  • MODERATOR
7 months 3 weeks ago #313418

Hello,

Okay. I clearly don't understand how Stripe is managing that API version information in their backend.
Sure, the Christmas period is a critical one, you don't want to perform untested modifications or updates.

Regards,


Jerome - Obsidev.com
HikaMarket & HikaSerial developer / HikaShop core dev team.

Also helping the HikaShop support team when having some time or couldn't sleep.
By the way, do not send me private message, use the "contact us" form instead.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 100
  • Thank you received: 7
  • Hikashop Business
6 months 1 week ago #314310

Hi Jerome
I've updated my stripeconnect plugin 1.0.4 and now that the function setApiVersion sets the version to 2019-03-14 in my dashboard the payments were processed with that api version and not my old version (2017-06-05). Which is much better.
So it is essential to have that function" setApiVersion" setting the right version of the Api.

In my stripe dashboard I could update my Api version but only to the most recent version which is 2019-12-03 and not to the version of your plugin so I don't see the point ?!

Hope I made myself clear !!
Best wishes for the New Year 2020
Regards
Sophie

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 24235
  • Thank you received: 3744
  • MODERATOR
6 months 1 week ago #314318

Hello,

Thank you for your feedback and best wishes for this new year !

Regards,


Jerome - Obsidev.com
HikaMarket & HikaSerial developer / HikaShop core dev team.

Also helping the HikaShop support team when having some time or couldn't sleep.
By the way, do not send me private message, use the "contact us" form instead.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.096 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum