Shipping and billing addresses

  • Posts: 76113
  • Thank you received: 11910
  • MODERATOR
11 years 1 month ago #20109

You could replace the line:
if($this->shipping_address==$this->billing_address){

by:
if(false){

in both address and address_view files of the checkout view via the menu Display->Views. Then, add some CSS to hide the input:
.hikashop_checkout_shipping_same_address {display:none;}
and remove the label.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 290
  • Thank you received: 4
  • Hikashop Business
11 years 1 month ago #20208

Working OK thanks, but found a couple of issues.

On your demo site:
1. Add product to cart
2.Go to checkout
3. Login as user demo.
4. Untick same address for shipping
5. Edit shipping address - change street.
6. Old address shows for billing, new address for shipping - great.
7. On shipping side delete the address used for billing.
8. Both addresses now use the new address (from 5)
9. Repeat 4 Untick same address for shipping
10. Repeat 5 Edit shipping address - change street.
11. Both addresses now use the new address (from 10).
I would expect address from 5 for billing, and from 10 for shipping.

Clicking of New Button:
In the address form is there a way to tell whether the user clicked the billing or the shipping new button?
Could one be added?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 76113
  • Thank you received: 11910
  • MODERATOR
11 years 1 month ago #20267

Thanks. It's fixed on our end. We'll include the fix for next release.

You can already now whether you're editing a shipping or a billing address in the view:
if(JRequest::getVar('type','')=='shipping'){
//shipping
}elseif(Request::getVar('type','')=='billing'){
//billing
}

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 290
  • Thank you received: 4
  • Hikashop Business
11 years 1 month ago #20277

Thanks for the fix.

When editing the getVar('type') is fine.
When the user has clicked the New button it is null.
Could it be set to indicate which New button the user clicked please.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 47
  • Thank you received: 0
11 years 1 month ago #20283

nicolas wrote:

You could replace the line:
if($this->shipping_address==$this->billing_address){

by:
if(false){

in both address and address_view files of the checkout view via the menu Display->Views. Then, add some CSS to hide the input:
.hikashop_checkout_shipping_same_address {display:none;}
and remove the label.



Have done this, the checkbox is gone, however now i have the exact same problem as before, when editing the shipping address also the billing address changes!

Edit: Fixed it by NOT changing the above line to "if(false){" in the view checkout / address_view

Last edit: 11 years 1 month ago by woes.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 76113
  • Thank you received: 11910
  • MODERATOR
11 years 1 month ago #20298

@brainforge:
Sure, you need to add .'&type='.$this->type in the href of the a tag of the new button at the bottom of the file address_view.
We'll do that on our end too.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 47
  • Thank you received: 0
11 years 4 weeks ago #21155

Hi,

For some reason, it doesn't work again, when you add or edit the shipping address, a new address is made and both addresses get changed to the new made one.

I'm absolutely lost now, it worked perfectly and haven't changed anything to our config except for disabling "Auto submit shipping and payment methods selection".
Have tried to enable it again, without success.

Please help, we allready got a complaint of a customer because the receiver got an email saying that the product was paid for and would be shipped to them, while it should be a surprise.. :(

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 76113
  • Thank you received: 11910
  • MODERATOR
11 years 4 weeks ago #21170

Hi,

Do you use the latest version ? Did you change anything in the address views ?

It's working fine on our end so there is no reason it would reselect the billing address when editing the shipping address.

You're talking about emails received by someone else than the person making the order but emails are sent based on the user email and not based on the address since the address information does not contain any email information. So I'm not following you...How would both problems be related ?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 47
  • Thank you received: 0
11 years 4 weeks ago #21178

Yup, latest version, it worked like a charm before, the only thing changed since then is the "auto submit shipping and payment methods selection".

The problem is, the customer ordered, changed the shipping address, and dit not notice the billing address also changed. therefore the receiver got the emails of payment complete etc.

The login credentials i gave you last time still work, maybe you can take a look..
i only have the changes in the views from a few posts before to remove the checkbox, which worked flawlessly..

Besides this problem, just some thoughts, could it be made so that the customer always gets a popup or something for entering the shipping address?
It can also be confusing when creating a new address that there are four addresses (2 left, 2 right). This would instanty solve all the possible issues regarding shipping/billing addresses..

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 76113
  • Thank you received: 11910
  • MODERATOR
11 years 4 weeks ago #21191

Again, I don't see how is the address of the user related to the email address ?


We don't keep a track of the websites of each username on the forum, nor of their credentials. Please provide again the information via our contact form.

You can change the system to only display the selected address with the change there: www.hikashop.com/en/support/forum/4-how-...addresses.html#20935

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 47
  • Thank you received: 0
11 years 4 weeks ago #21204

Okay that's great, i will implement it when we have this fixed :)
Have send you an email with the credentials ;)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 76113
  • Thank you received: 11910
  • MODERATOR
11 years 4 weeks ago #21217

I just tried to place an order on your website, edited the shipping address and saved the modification. The new shipping address was selected automatically for the shipping address while the billing address was still the first address entered.

So there was no problem for me on your checkout...

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 392
  • Thank you received: 0
11 years 4 weeks ago #21225

Latest version? Sweet! :laugh:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 47
  • Thank you received: 0
11 years 4 weeks ago #21242

I've tried it as well, and it works like you say!

It seems the problem is ONLY with the "Create new address" button!
I've tried to start with creating a new address instead of editing when facing this problem, now when i first edit the address all goes well.

Tried deleting the new edited shipping address, and creating OR editing the shipping address again, and everything goes wrong again!

So maybe i should just delete the "create new address" buttons for now :P

Last edit: 11 years 4 weeks ago by woes.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 76113
  • Thank you received: 11910
  • MODERATOR
11 years 4 weeks ago #21253

There is indeed a problem on the current release with some more complex scenarios like this:
www.hikashop.com/support/forum/2-general...art=40&lang=en#20208

We've fix it and it will be in next version.


If you want to hide the new button, you can easily do it with CSS:

.hikashop_checkout_shipping_address_new, .hikashop_checkout_billing_address_new{
display: none;
}

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 112
  • Thank you received: 0
10 years 11 months ago #23972

Hi Nicolas,

I have been trying to follow this thread in order to understand what needs to be done to separate editing on billing and shipping addresses, but I got lost. Could you summarize what changes in what files need to be done so that when I want to have a shipping address different to the billing and add new shipping address, my billing address stays unchanged and I only see one billing and one shipping addresses?

Thank you.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 76113
  • Thank you received: 11910
  • MODERATOR
10 years 11 months ago #23988

The only modification to do is this: www.hikashop.com/en/support/forum/4-how-...addresses.html#20935
The rest has been integrated in HikaShop.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 112
  • Thank you received: 0
10 years 11 months ago #24015

I've tried your earlier suggestion, but when I edit shipping address, billing address is also changed. I want to be able to separate the two types.

Is it something that's been fixed in 1.5.3 as I am using 1.5.2?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 76113
  • Thank you received: 11910
  • MODERATOR
10 years 11 months ago #24026

Yes, that has been fixed in 1.5.3. If you're not using the latest edition, you should first update before applying the modification.
I understand that you can't update easily because you modified core files of HikaShop, but you should at least try to update the address handling.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 34
  • Thank you received: 0
10 years 8 months ago #30109

nicolas wrote:

Yes, that has been fixed in 1.5.3. If you're not using the latest edition, you should first update before applying the modification.
I understand that you can't update easily because you modified core files of HikaShop, but you should at least try to update the address handling.


I have Version 1.5.3 and I'm having the same issue mentioned earlier in the thread.

If I uncheck the "Using same as billing" and enter a new shipping address, it automatically gets set as the billing address too. Which file would I have to change (or upgrade from the new 1.5.4 release) to fix the issue?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.130 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum