Shipping and billing addresses

  • Posts: 92
  • Thank you received: 0
10 years 8 months ago #30126

Good to know that will be an update version released soon.
:D

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 76113
  • Thank you received: 11910
  • MODERATOR
10 years 8 months ago #30155

Yes, you should just update. It's way easier.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 34
  • Thank you received: 0
10 years 8 months ago #30159

Thanks for the fast replies Nicolas, they're appreciated.

I have a heavily modded version of Hikashop...is there a particular file that I could switch in from 1.5.4 which would fix the issue?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 76113
  • Thank you received: 11910
  • MODERATOR
10 years 8 months ago #30213

Then, you should look at updating the files in components/com_hikashop/views/address , the file components/com_hikashop/views/checkout/tmpl/address.php and components/com_hikashop/views/checkout/tmpl/address_view.php and components/com_hikashop/controllers/address.php

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 34
  • Thank you received: 0
10 years 8 months ago #30378

nicolas wrote:


I've tried your earlier suggestion, but when I edit shipping address, billing address is also changed. I want to be able to separate the two types.

Is it something that's been fixed in 1.5.3 as I am using 1.5.2?


Yes, that has been fixed in 1.5.3. If you're not using the latest edition, you should first update before applying the modification.
I understand that you can't update easily because you modified core files of HikaShop, but you should at least try to update the address handling.


I have version 1.5.3 but the shipping and billing addresses aren't separate. The issue we now have is that if I delete a shipping address, it also deletes the address as a billing address. All the addresses are in one pool.

What would be necessary to have separate handling for billing and shipping addresses? I saw your other thread with a possible solution ( www.hikashop.com/en/support/forum/4-how-...addresses.html#20935 ) but I'm not sure if that will do the trick.

Thanks again for all your help.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 76113
  • Thank you received: 11910
  • MODERATOR
10 years 8 months ago #30401

Having a different pool of addresses is not possible.
The solution is see is to hide the unselected addresses. But that won't make a difference for the deletion of addresses.
The only thing I can propose is for you to remove the delete button:
<a title="<?php echo JText::_('HIKA_DELETE'); ?>" class="hikashop_checkout_<?php echo $this->type;?>_address_delete" href="<?php echo hikashop_completeLink('checkout&step='.$this->step.'&redirect=checkout&task=deleteaddress&address_id='.$address->address_id.'&'.JUtility::getToken().'=1'.$url_itemid);?>"><img alt="<?php echo JText::_('HIKA_DELETE'); ?>" src="<?php echo HIKASHOP_IMAGES; ?>delete.png" border="0" /></a>

in the file address_view via the menu Display>Views.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 34
  • Thank you received: 0
10 years 8 months ago #30405

The solution is see is to hide the unselected addresses. But that won't make a difference for the deletion of addresses.


Is that what the fix at ( www.hikashop.com/en/support/forum/4-how-...addresses.html#20935 ) does?

If an unselected address is hidden, then how would a user go about selecting one of those hidden addresses as a shipping address (for example) if they needed to?

May I ask the rationale behind the decision to pool all the addresses? Having separate handling for shipping and billing addresses is quite common in most ecommerce software.

On the other hand, it can simplify things for users since they only have to enter an address once. It's a double edged sword though as the deletion of a shipping address means it's gone everywhere.

Thanks.

Last edit: 10 years 8 months ago by SD.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 76113
  • Thank you received: 11910
  • MODERATOR
10 years 8 months ago #30407

No, the fix there is only to hide unselected addresses.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 34
  • Thank you received: 0
10 years 8 months ago #30411

nicolas wrote:

No, the fix there is only to hide unselected addresses.



Sorry, edited the post while you were responding.

If an unselected address is hidden, then how would a user go about selecting one of those hidden addresses as a shipping address (for example) if they needed to?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 76113
  • Thank you received: 11910
  • MODERATOR
10 years 8 months ago #30424

Of course they wouldn't.
In the thread you posted the link, the goal was that when the user had entered a shipping address, it wouldn't appear as a selection for the billing address and vice versa.
He would only see the latest address he entered for each shipping and billing.
And in that case, removing the delete icon makes sense since you have only one address for each.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 18
  • Thank you received: 0
9 years 9 months ago #71498

Please forgive me if I'm repeating previous posts, but I've read a few posts regarding these issues, but haven't quite found or understood the answers as I'm not a developer.

Joomla 1.5.22
HikaShop 1.5.6

Here's my issue:

Billing and Shipping information - When un-checking the "use same address as for billing" box, the same billing address pops up for shipping. Doesn't seem logical. Shouldn't I be seeing another set of empty fields to fill out a different shipping address instead. That's why I checked that box, right? When I do edit or create a new shipping address, it automatically adds it to the Billing side also. So now there's multiple Billing and multiple Shipping addresses visible. Seems very odd, unintuitive, and confusing to customers. How can I streamline this to just one billing address and one shipping address at a time without relying on the customers intuitive abilities? In other words, with all due respect to my customers, how do I dumb this down?

Many thanks in advance!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 76113
  • Thank you received: 11910
  • MODERATOR
9 years 9 months ago #71741

With next version of HikaShop (it should be available in one or two weeks), the use will be presented with a address edition popup so that he can directly change the shipping address when unticking that checkbox.

To not have multiple addresses displaying you can do like that:
www.hikashop.com/en/forum/4-how-to/67947-setup-questions.html

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 18
  • Thank you received: 0
9 years 9 months ago #71748

Thanks for the quick response! Will try this until the update comes out.

Cheers!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 18
  • Thank you received: 0
9 years 9 months ago #72512

Hi Nicolas,

I tried this fix. When editing the shipping address it still adds it as another new shipping address and also adds it as another billing address. Now there's two billing addresses and two shipping addresses. Please, is there any other workaround to make it so that I have one billing address, and one editable shipping address at a time until the update is released?

Thanks

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 18
  • Thank you received: 0
9 years 9 months ago #72612

Nevermind, It did actually work. I just forgot to hit save when I added the code :blush:

Thanks for your help!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 11
  • Thank you received: 0
6 years 7 months ago #225400

How do I get the address fields to show during checkout without login or registration? Hikashop used to work just fine, but today it doesn't. I've been working on configuration for other reasons, and I think I've done something unintended.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 12953
  • Thank you received: 1775
6 years 7 months ago #225916

Hello,
Sorry for the late reply :

How do I get the address fields to show during checkout without login or registration

Note that to enter an address, you should at least be logged in, or configure your checkout workflow to enable Guest checkout via "Hikashop->System->Configuration->Checkout".

Last edit: 6 years 7 months ago by Mohamed Thelji.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.128 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum